How to Go Gluten-Free & Get Proper Nutrition with Celiac Disease

0
86

breakfast foods (pancakes, waffles, biscuits, French toast)

  • Cereal and granola
  • Crackers (pretzels, graham crackers)
  • Food coloring
  • Noodles (ramen, soba, udon)
  • Pasta
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces and gravies
  • Soups
  • Wheat, barley, and rye can appear in various forms and varieties, all of which contain gluten as well. Be sure to look out for these on food product labels:

    Wheat

    • Wheatberries
    • Durum
    • Einkorn wheat
    • Emmer (or farro)
    • Farina
    • Graham
    • Kamut khorasan wheat
    • Semolina
    • Spelt

    Rye

    Barley

    Triticale (a hybrid of wheat and rye)

    Malt

    • Malted barley flour
    • Malted milk / malted milkshakes
    • Malt extract
    • Malt syrup
    • Malt flavoring
    • Malt vinegar

    Brewer’s yeast

    Wheat starch

    Are Oats Safe?

    Oats are tricky territory. Despite their nutritional benefits, and the variety they offer celiac diets, oats are often grown near wheat, barley, and rye. This opens the door to cross-contamination.

    Check with your doctor or dietitian about oats labeled gluten-free.

    Reading Food Labels

    Knowing how to read food labels is the most important part of a successful gluten-free diet. Grocery store aisles are the battleground in the fight against gluten. Take these tips with you:

    • Manufacturers can label food gluten-free if it has less than 20 ppm (parts per million) gluten. This means it’s safe, but double-check the ingredient list.
    • Gluten goes by many names. Wheat, barley, and rye are sure to stand out in an ingredient list, but look for lesser-known derivatives like malt flavoring or graham.
    • Wheat-free doesn’t mean gluten-free.
    • When in doubt, leave it out. This is a well-worn phrase in the world of gluten-free foods. No cracker is more important than your health.
    • Labels won’t replace common sense. Remember that naturally gluten-free foods like bottled water or green beans won’t always be labeled gluten-free.
    • Still not sure? Call the company that produced the food or check their website. Have the SKU number from the scanner pattern on hand for easy reference.

    Kitchen Smarts

    When gluten-free food comes into contact with a food that has gluten, cross-contact occurs. Make sure these home hot spots are used only for gluten-free foods:

    • Toasters
    • Colanders
    • Convection ovens
    • Flour sifters
    • Sponges, dishcloths
    • Containers
    • Utensils
    • Pots, pans, skillets
    • Grills, griddles, presses, irons
    • Fryers
    • Cutting boards
    • Shelves in your refrigerator and pantry